Article Image
Two school records fall in menís 200 backstroke and womenís 400 freestyle relay.
Courtesy: Duane Burleson

Women Fourth, Men Sixth in Final Standings of Championships

Courtesy: Green Bay Athletics
Release: February 28, 2016
Print RSS

By Patrick Stumpf

ROCHESTER, Mich. ( – The Green Bay swimming and diving teams participated in the final day of the 2016 Horizon League Championship meet on Saturday, with the women’s squad finishing the weekend in fourth place with a total of 401.5 points, while the men placed sixth overall with 366 points over the four-day competition.

Oakland took the league title on both sides, accumulating 840 points on the men’s side and 827.5 on the women’s.

"Congratulations to our student-athletes and the rest of the Horizon League for a competitive conference championship meet,” said head coach Reed Robelot. “After a whirlwind of a season, our squad capped it off with a rollercoaster ride of performances. The highs, the lows, and everything in between made for an exciting competition, but one that many of us have to learn from. It was great to see a number of seniors end their tenure at Green Bay on career-high notes.”

“Team records fell to both upper and lower classmen, which makes us feel good about the past and future of the program. A special congratulations to Michael Klemm on his first men's 1 meter diving title. Thanks to all of our supporters that cheered us on!”

Although Green Bay did not have any champions to conclude the meet, freshman Charles Warren provided a highlight by breaking the Phoenix’s men’s 200 backstroke record with his preliminary time of 1:48.34. His finals time of 1:49.11 was only good enough for sixth position in the meet; however, it tied the previous school record set by Joey Weber in 2007. Both times edged Brian Borden’s freshman record of 1:50.75 last season.

Sophomore Thomas Everson ended one spot behind Warren in 1:50:38 and 1:50.39, which hold the fourth and fifth quickest marks. In the men’s 200 breaststroke, Willem Poelmans took home a fifth place result in 2:00.76, the fourth fastest time in program history, while Noah Hanold took second in the B final in 2:01.83 (5th).

On the women’s side, junior Claire Friederick won the women’s B final of the 200 yard backstroke in 2:02.16, the fifth quickest time in school annals, while senior Racheal Weiland went 51.09 in prelims and 51.10 in the finals for a seventh place finish, good enough for the third highest time by a Green Bay woman in program history.

In the women’s 200 butterfly, junior Haley Lucas finished in third place in 2:02.59, despite her prelim time being slightly faster (2:02.59). Both times just missed her school record in the event set last season (2:01.75).

In the 1650 freestyle, sophomore Stephanie Garvin finished fifth in 17:09.94, collecting 14 points, a time that will go down as the sixth fastest time by a Phoenix woman. Finally, in the women’s 200 breaststroke, senior Marlee Kiander’s prelim time of 2.22.59 is eighth quickest.

On the diving boards, sophomore Bailey Wagner finished off her weekend with a fourth place finish in the 3 meter, posting scores of 276.10 and 275.90. Her prelim score was the third best by a Phoenix woman in school history.

Finally, the women’s 400 yard freestyle relay of Weiland, Garvin, Janna Check and Friederick set a school record by taking third place in 3:23.97, besting a 2009 time of 3:24.64.

After the conclusion of the meet, here was the comprehensive list of the league awards handed out:

Freshman of the Year: Devon Nowicki, Oakland
Diver of the Meet: Stirling Fordham, Oakland
Swimmer of the Meet: Philipp Sikatzki, Cleveland State
Athlete of the Year: Philipp Sikatzki, Cleveland State
Diving Coach of the Year: Larry Albright, Oakland
Swimming Coach of the Year: Paul Graham, Cleveland State

Freshman of the Year: Molly McNamara, Cleveland State
Diver of the Meet: Rachel Margis, Milwaukee
Swimmer of the Meet: Patricia Aschan, Oakland
Athlete of the Year: Patricia Aschan, Oakland
Diving Coach of the Year: Todd Hill, Milwaukee
Swimming Coach of the Year: Kyle Oaks, Wright State

Women – Final Standings:
1. Oakland – 827.5 points
2. Milwaukee – 628.5
3. Wright State – 428
4. Green Bay – 401.5
5. UIC – 400
6. Youngstown State – 353
7. Cleveland State – 350.5
8. Valparaiso – 94

Men – Final Standings:
1. Oakland – 840 points
2. Cleveland State – 597.5
3. Wright State – 585
4. UIC – 399
5. Milwaukee – 382.5
6. Green Bay – 366
7. Valparaiso – 153


For the latest and most up-to-date information on Green Bay Athletics and Green Bay Swimming & Diving, please visit

Follow us on Twitter: @GBPhoenix and @GBPhoenixSwim.

Like Green Bay Phoenix Athletics and Green Bay Phoenix Swimming & Diving on Facebook.

No scheduled events in the near future



Fleet Farm
Hyatt on Main
S&L Motors
Ticket Star
Press Gazette
Country Inn Suites
Brett Favre Steakhouse
Uploaded Ad
Weidner Center
Uploaded Ad