Article Image

Lindstrom and Weiland Named to Winter All-Academic Team

Courtesy: Green Bay Athletics
Release: May 04, 2016
Print RSS

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. ( – Honoring student-athletes for their success both in competition and in the classroom, the Horizon League announced its 2016 Winter All-Academic Teams on Wednesday afternoon. Green Bay was represented by women’s basketball player Jessica Lindstrom and women’s swimmer Racheal Weiland.

Lindstrom, a sophomore, has maintained a cumulative grade-point average of 3.877 as an Education major at Green Bay, while becoming a key player on the 18-time defending champion women’s basketball team. The Superior native was named All-League Second Team and All-Defensive Team this past season. Lindstrom was also named Breakthrough Athlete of the Year at Monday night’s Student-Athlete Honors Night.

Weiland, a senior, has achieved a 3.616 grade-point average as a Communications major with a minor in women and gender studies. The native of Wisconsin Rapids, Wis., is a six-time member of the Horizon League Academic Honor Roll and was voted Team MVP in 2016. She earned the first-ever Phoenix Medal of Honor, which was handed out by Director of Athletics Mary Ellen Gillespie on Monday night. Weiland also owns the program record in the 100 yard breastroke and ranks third all-time in program history in three separate events.

 A total of 75 student-athletes from six winter sports were honored in balloting by the League’s faculty athletics representatives and sports information directors.

Oakland and Milwaukee led the League with 17 and 15 selections respectively, followed by Youngstown State, Valparaiso and Detroit.

The Horizon League recognizes student-athletes with seasonal Academic All-League Teams in each of its 19 championship sports. To be eligible for Academic All-Horizon League consideration, a student-athlete must have a cumulative grade-point-average of 3.20 or higher (based on a 4.00 scale) and have completed at least one year at the member institution, having earned 24 semester-hour or 36 quarter-hour credits.

Men’s Basketball
Cody Wichmann, Milwaukee
Max Hooper, Oakland
Vashil Fernandez, Valparaiso
Alec Peters, Valparaiso
Francisco Santiago, Youngstown State

Women’s Basketball *ties are not broken
Rosanna Reynolds, Detroit
Haleigh Ristovski, Detroit
Steph Kostowicz, Milwaukee
Jessica Lindstrom, Green Bay
Christine Roush, Northern Kentucky
Elena Popkey, Oakland

Men’s Swimming and Diving
Philipp Sikatzki, Cleveland State
Patrick Walsh, Cleveland State
Yev Foster, Milwaukee
Nick Menninga, Milwaukee
Erik Wahlgren, Milwaukee
Mitch Alters, Oakland
Andrew Binder, Oakland
Tuomas Kiviluoma, Oakland
Jacob Pearson, Oakland
Hrafn Traustason, Oakland
Mark Ciesielski, UIC
Alec Domjan, Valparaiso
Fred Jenny, Valparaiso
Csongor Bajnoczki, Wright State
Matt Dassow, Wright State
Clement Quilliec, Wright State

Women’s Swimming and Diving
Tori Taffner, Cleveland State
Jamie VanDewerker, Cleveland State
Racheal Weiland, Green Bay
Sara Bentley, Milwaukee
Natalie Johnson, Milwaukee
Rachel Margis, Milwaukee
Patricia Aschan, Oakland
Nikki Flynn, Oakland
Takara Martin, Oakland
Melissa Vandermeulen, Oakland
Rachel Waite, Oakland
Erin Sivak, UIC
Danel Voorhees, UIC
Emily Hayhow, Wright State
Samantha TenEyck, Wright State
Viktoria Orosz, Youngstown State

Men’s Indoor Track and Field *ties are not broken
Colin Cashner, Detroit
Ben Kendell, Detroit
Khalil Parris, Detroit
Austin Wigent, Detroit
Kyle Becker, Milwaukee
Shawn Bohler, Milwaukee
Brett Pozolinski, Milwaukee
Nate Pozolinski, Milwaukee
Christopher Scott, Oakland
Adam Bruno, Valparaiso
Elijah Owen, Valparaiso
Christopher Sosnowski, Valparaiso
Ryan Booth, Youngstown State
Jon Hutnyan, Youngstown State
Ryan Sullivan, Youngstown State
Carl Zallow, Youngstown State

Women’s Indoor Track and Field *ties are not broken
Aisha Potts-Tyre, Detroit
Leah Holmes, Milwaukee
Jessie Laabs, Milwaukee
Kate Novacek, Milwaukee
Emily Grubb, Northern Kentucky
Jordan Horning, Northern Kentucky
Elizabeth Girardot, Oakland
Miranda Haas, Oakland
Alana Koepf, Oakland
Hayley MacDonald, Oakland
Emma Preston, UIC
Liz Bloy, Valparaiso
Gabrielle Markley, Wright State
Jaynee Corbett, Youngstown State
Nina Grambling, Youngstown State
Savannah Osborne, Youngstown State

Honorees by School
Oakland – 17
Milwaukee – 15
Youngstown State – 9
Valparaiso – 8
Detroit – 7
Wright State – 6
Cleveland State – 4
UIC – 4
Northern Kentucky – 3
Green Bay – 2

No scheduled events in the near future



Fleet Farm
Hyatt on Main
S&L Motors
Ticket Star
Press Gazette
Country Inn Suites
Brett Favre Steakhouse
Uploaded Ad
Weidner Center
Uploaded Ad