Article Image
Matt Nichols and Racheal Weiland collected the first-ever Phoenix Medal of Honor awards.
Courtesy: Comm Squad

Green Bay Celebrates Successful Year at Student Athlete Honors Night

Courtesy: Green Bay Athletics
Release: May 02, 2016
Print RSS

GREEN BAY, Wis. ( – The third-annual Student Athlete Honors Night awards ceremony took place on Monday evening at the Weidner Center in front of nearly 300 Phoenix student-athletes and staff members. Special guests in attendance included UW-Green Bay’s Chancellor Gary L. Miller, former men’s basketball player Jeff Zavada, long-time Horizon League leader Alfreeda Goff and the many Green Bay coaching staffs.

The awards show, hosted by the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee, celebrated another successful year for Green Bay Athletics. Numerous awards were distributed throughout the evening in recognition of outstanding performances in both athletics and academics.

Terri Wagner received the inaugural Distinguished Service Award, which recognizes a person who exhibits strong dedication and passion to Green Bay Athletics. Wagner has touched the hearts of all 16 athletic teams and captures moments that the student-athletes will have for the rest of their lives. She has served as the team photographer for many years and continues to support and work with all of the student-athletes to give them the best experience at Green Bay.

Director of Athletics Mary Ellen Gillespie debuted the Varsity GB letter program, which is a framed interlocking “GB” that is given to graduating seniors who have exhausted their eligibility. Gillespie and members of the senior staff handed out the framed letters to 49 individuals.

Phoenix Medal of Honor: Matt Nichols (Nordic Ski) and Racheal Weiland (Women’s Swimming & Diving)

Male Athlete of the Year: Carrington Love, Men’s Basketball and Gene Kiela III, Men’s Golf

Female Athlete of the Year: Mehryn Kraker, Women’s Basketball

Best Moment: Men’s basketball captures the Horizon League Championship in Detroit

Coach of the Year: Linc Darner, Men’s Basketball

Play of the Year: Jen Wellnitz’ game winning tip-in with 0.6 seconds left to advance to Horizon League Tournament Championship Game

Breakthrough Player of the Year: Joe Du Chateau, Men’s Golf and Jessica Lindstrom, Women’s Basketball

Support Staff Member of the Year: Brandon Schlotthauer, Strength & Conditioning

Team of the Year: Men’s Basketball

Newcomers of the Year: Charles Cooper, Men’s Basketball and Jessica Wolf, Volleyball

Best Individual Performance: Matt Nichols, Nordic Ski (Qualifies for NCAA Championships)

Team GPA Award: Men’s Tennis and Women’s Cross Country

Most Improved Team GPA Award: Men’s Soccer and Women’s Golf

Distinguished Service Award: Terri Wagner

Junior Scholar-Athlete Award: James Wise and Janna Check, Swimming & Diving

Senior Male Scholar-Athlete Award: Willem Poelmans, Men’s Swimming & Diving

Alfreeda Goff Senior Scholar-Athlete Award: Devan Schultz, Women’s Soccer

No scheduled events in the near future



Fleet Farm
Hyatt on Main
S&L Motors
Ticket Star
Press Gazette
Country Inn Suites
Brett Favre Steakhouse
Uploaded Ad
Weidner Center
Uploaded Ad