Article Image
Charles Cooper, Warren Jones, Kenneth Lowe and Khalil Small garner accolades.
Courtesy: Comm Squad

Green Bay Places League-High Four Players on Horizon All-League Teams

Courtesy: Green Bay Athletics
Release: March 01, 2017
Print RSS

GREEN BAY, Wis. ( – The Horizon League announced its All-League teams on Wednesday morning and Green Bay landed four different players on the collection of teams and awards, the most players of any other team and the program’s most in its history as a member of the Horizon League. Charles Cooper (Second Team All-League), Warren Jones (Sixth Man of the Year), Kenneth Lowe (All-Defensive Team) and Khalil Small (All-Defensive Team) each received recognition for their outstanding seasons.

Green Bay has had three different players recognized in one season on a few occasions, but had never had four until this year. It’s the first time any of these four players have received Horizon All-League honors for their play in the regular season. Cooper received All-Tournament Team honors last March.

Lowe and Small are the third pair of Phoenix players to both land on the All-Defensive Team in the same season, joining Carrington Love and Jordan Fouse from last year and Alec Brown and Jordan Fouse from 2012-13 and 2013-14.

Jones is the first Phoenix player to earn Sixth Man of the Year honors since Ryan Tillema in 2008-09, an award voted on by head coaches.

The four players honored were key to Green Bay earning the No. 3 seed at Motor City Madness and registering another top four finish in the league. This marks the fifth-straight season the Phoenix has finished fourth or higher in the regular season.

The 3rd-seeded Phoenix will open the 2017 Little Caesars Horizon League Championship on Sunday night at Joe Louis Arena when it faces No. 6 seed UIC at 4 p.m. CT in the Quarterfinals.

Charles Cooper, Second Team All-League
Cooper led the Phoenix in scoring this past season and ranked 14th in the Horizon League at 14.3 PPG. The Gary, Ind., native reached double figures in 14 of his 18 Horizon League games and scored 20 or more points three times. Despite coming off the bench, Cooper ranked second on the team in minutes played and was second in rebounding at 5.5 RPG.

Warren Jones, Sixth Man of the Year
The sharp-shooting Jones received the top honor for non-starters, being recognized as the Sixth Man of the Year after averaging 10.7 PPG in league games this year. The senior knocked down 28 of his 64 3-point attempts, ranking second in the 3-point field goal percentage at 43.8 percent. Jones scored 10 or more points in 11 Horizon League games this year and came off the bench for all but one game this entire season.

Kenneth Lowe, All-Defensive Team
Whether he was guarding the ball or blocking shots, Lowe was recognized by the league’s head coaches for his presence on the defensive end. The Little Chute standout was a game-changer for Green Bay this year, leading the team in blocks and steals and creative havoc for opposing teams. Additionally, Lowe has scored in double figures in three of his last four games and has tallied at least one block for one steal in every game this year.

Khalil Small, All-Defensive Team
Known as a lockdown on-the-ball defender, Small was acknowledged by head coaches for his ability to disrupt an opponents’ offense by guarding the point guard. The Chicago native is the only player to have started and played in all 30 of his team’s games this year, while leading the team in minutes played overall and in Horizon League play. Small was second on the team in steals and third in rebounding, serving as the only non-senior to be recognized on All-League.

First Team All-Horizon League
Drew McDonald, Northern Kentucky
Jalen Hayes, Oakland
Alec Peters, Valparaiso
Mark Alstork, Wright State
Cameron Morse, Youngstown State

Second Team All-Horizon League
Rob Edwards, Cleveland State
Jaleel Hogan, Detroit Mercy
Charles Cooper, Green Bay
Martez Walker, Oakland
Shane Hammink, Valparaiso

All-Freshman Team
Corey Allen, Detroit Mercy
Carson Williams, Northern Kentucky
Isaiah Brock, Oakland
Tarkus Ferguson, UIC
Dominique Matthews, UIC

All-Defensive Team
Kenneth Lowe, Green Bay
Khalil Small, Green Bay

Isaiah Brock, Oakland
Tai Odiase, UIC
Tevonn Walker, Valparaiso

Player of the Year
Alec Peters, Valparaiso

Coach of the Year
John Brannen, Northern Kentucky

Freshman of the Year
Corey Allen, Detroit Mercy

Defensive Player of the Year
Tai Odiase, UIC

Sixth Man of the Year
Warren Jones, Green Bay


For the latest and most up-to-date information on Green Bay Athletics, please visit

Follow us on Twitter: @GBPhoenixMBB and Instagram: gbphoenixmbb

Like Green Bay Phoenix men’s basketball on Facebook.

No scheduled events in the near future



Fleet Farm
Hyatt on Main
S&L Motors
Ticket Star
Press Gazette
Country Inn Suites
Brett Favre Steakhouse
Uploaded Ad
Weidner Center
Uploaded Ad