Green Bay Women's Soccer Ties with Valparaiso 0-0

Courtesy: Green Bay Athletics
         
Release: October 10, 2010
Print RSS
Article Image
Courtesy: -
Ahna Logan and the Phoenix begin a three-match road trip Friday at Milwaukee.

GREEN BAY, Wis. (GreenBayPhoenix.com) - The Green Bay women's soccer team (2-7-3, 0-3-1 Horizon League) battled to a 0-0 double overtime tie against Valparaiso (5-6-4, 1-3-1 Horizon League) Sunday afternoon at Santaga Stadium. The tie snapped a six-match losing streak for the Phoenix.

Phoenix players sported pink warm-ups during pregame in support of breast cancer awareness month as part of Green Bay's Compete to Beat initiative. Sunday was also Parents Day, as all parents in attendance were recognized before kickoff.

The Phoenix had its best scoring opportunity with a minute and a half to go in regulation. Corey Arno (Winneconne, Wis.) took a sliding shot in the box, which was blocked by Valparaiso goalkeeper Kristen Manski. Megan Braatz (Waukesha, Wis.) moved in for a rebound shot, but was blocked by a Valparaiso defender.

Green Bay took a total of 11 shots and Valparaiso took 19. The Crusaders took six corner kicks throughout the game to Green Bay's one. Phoenix goalkeeper Maddie Drusch (Appleton, Wis.) had a total of six saves en route to Green Bay's fifth shutout of the season.

Green Bay begins a three-match road trip on Friday, Oct. 15 when it travels to Milwaukee to take on the Panthers at 7 p.m.


SCHEDULE
Wednesday, August 10
Women's Soccer 
vs. Viterbo (Exhibition)
6:00 PM
Green Bay, Wis.
 
Sunday , August 14
Women's Soccer 
vs. Cardinal Stritch (Exhibition)
6:00 PM
Green Bay, Wis.
 
Friday , August 19
Women's Soccer 
vs. Loyola
7:00 PM
Green Bay, Wis.
 
Sunday , August 21
Women's Soccer 
vs. Akron
12:00 PM
Green Bay, Wis.
 
Thursday , August 25
Women's Soccer 
vs. Southeast Missouri
7:00 PM
Green Bay, Wis.
 
Sunday , August 28
Women's Soccer 
vs. Air Force
2:00 PM
Green Bay, Wis.
 
Friday , September 02
Women's Soccer 
vs. Eastern Michigan
4:00 PM
Green Bay, Wis.
 
Sunday , September 04
Women's Soccer 
at Illinois State
1:00 PM
Normal, Ill.
 
Sunday , September 11
Women's Soccer 
vs. South Dakota State
1:00 PM
Green Bay, Wis.
 
Friday , September 16
Women's Soccer 
vs. Northern Kentucky
6:00 PM
Green Bay, Wis.
 
Saturday , September 24
Women's Soccer 
at Wright State
6:00 PM
Dayton, Ohio
 
Wednesday, September 28
Women's Soccer 
at UIC
7:00 PM
Chicago, Ill.
 
Saturday , October 01
Women's Soccer 
vs. Valparaiso
7:00 PM
Green Bay, Wis.
 
Saturday , October 08
Women's Soccer 
vs. Detroit
7:00 PM
Green Bay, Wis.
 
Saturday , October 15
Women's Soccer 
at Oakland
6:00 PM
Rochester, Mich.
 
ON-DEMAND VIDEO
LAUNCH PLAYER ▸
STAY CONNECTED

EMAIL
SIGN UP

FOLLOW ON
FACEBOOK

Cellcom
Fleet Farm
Copp's
Hyatt on Main
S&L Motors
Ticket Star
WMMB
Gallagher's Pizza
Buffalo Wild Wings
AmericInn
Weidner Center
WNFL
Haberdasher Limited
Country Inn Suites
Brett Favre Steakhouse
Bergstrom
FunDeco
Ron's Cheese