Article Image
Academic All-Horizon League teams recognize success in competition and in the classroom
Courtesy: -

Six Phoenix Student-Athletes Earn Winter Academic All-League Honors

Courtesy: Green Bay Athletics
Release: April 10, 2014
Print RSS

By: Ryan Hartwig (@GBHartwig)

– Six UW-Green Bay student-athletes have been recognized as members of the 2014 Winter Academic All-Horizon League Teams, the conference office announced on Thursday. The teams, which represent success in competition as well as in the classroom, were voted on by the league’s faculty athletics representatives and athletics communications directors.

Sports eligible for the winter all-league teams are men’s and women’s basketball, men’s and women’s swimming and diving and men’s and women’s indoor track and field. Green Bay sponsors four of the six winter sports, as it does not participate in track and field.

Earning academic all-league honors for the Phoenix were women’s basketball’s Megan Lukan (Barrie, Ontario) and swimming and diving’s Carrie Dinelli (Northbrook, Ill.), Parker Wolf (Kohler, Wis.), Brian Heiser (McFarland, Wis.), Connor Huff (Dubuque, Iowa) and Ryan Korslin (Rudolph, Wis.).

Lukan, a junior point guard, owns a 3.429 cumulative grade-point average while majoring in communication and business administration. She was selected to the Horizon League All-Defensive Team in 2013-14, helping the Phoenix hold its opponents to just 59.6 points per game. Lukan appeared in all 32 games this past season, making 31 starts. She led the Phoenix with 135 assists and also added 51 steals – totals that ranked fourth and 10th in the league, respectively. In addition, Lukan paced the Phoenix and ranked second in the Horizon League with a 1.9 assist-to-turnover ratio.

A senior diver, Dinelli boasts an impressive 3.933 GPA as a human biology major. She won a total of nine diving events in 2013-14 and qualified for the NCAA Zone D Diving Championships for the first time in her career. Dinelli earned a podium finish on the 3-meter board at the 2014 Horizon League Championships, finishing sixth with a score of 274.95. She also had a standout performance in Green Bay’s dual meet at Milwaukee on Feb. 1, winning both diving events while posting a career-best score of 286.87 in the 3-meter competition.

Wolf, also a senior, holds a 3.53 GPA while majoring in business administration. She collected 18 first-place finishes for the Phoenix in 2013-14, and was twice named Horizon League Swimmer of the Week (Oct. 29, Jan. 14). Wolf placed third in the 50-yard freestyle (23.49) and fourth in the 200-yard freestyle (1:51.54) at the 2014 Horizon League Championship meet.

Heiser maintained a perfect 4.00 GPA throughout his UW-Green Bay career while majoring in business administration, history and economics. The senior picked up four total wins in the pool for the Phoenix this year, including three in the 200-yard backstroke.

Huff, a sophomore communication major with a 3.533 GPA, grabbed a pair of individual wins in the pool for the Phoenix in 2013-14. He also earned two top-eight finishes at the 2014 Horizon League Championships, placing sixth in the 200-yard butterfly and eighth in the 500-yard freestyle.

Korslin had an outstanding junior campaign for the Phoenix men while maintaining a 3.277 GPA as a psychology major. He claimed 12 individual victories in the breaststroke events in 2013-14 and took home a pair of individual Horizon League titles. Korslin won both the 100 and 200-yard breaststroke events at the 2014 Horizon League meet, and also swam on the winning 200 medley relay squad. All told, Korslin finished the Horizon League Championships with four school records, breaking the standards in the 100 breaststroke, 200 breaststroke, 200 medley relay and 400 medley relay.

Dinelli, Wolf, Heiser, Huff and Korslin also helped their squads achieve the College Swimming Coaches Association of America (CSCAA) Team Scholar All-American awards for the fall 2013 semester.

The Horizon League recognizes student-athletes with seasonal Academic All-League Teams in each of its 19 championship sports. To be eligible for Academic All-Horizon League consideration, a student-athlete must have a cumulative GPA of 3.20 or higher and have completed at least one year at the member institution, having earned 24 credits.

A total of 76 student-athletes from the Horizon League’s nine schools were honored. Conference newcomer Oakland led the way with 14 selections, while Detroit and Milwaukee were next with 11 apiece.

Men’s Basketball (6) **-Ties are not broken
Travis Bader, Oakland
Evan Bruinsma, Detroit
UgochuKwu Njoku, Detroit
Kendrick Perry, Youngstown State
Corey Petros, Oakland
Matt Vest, Wright State

Women’s Basketball (5)
Liz Hornberger, Youngstown State
Megan Lukan, Green Bay
Elena Popkey, Oakland
Heidi Schlegel, Youngstown State
Haley Schmitt, Cleveland State

Men’s Swimming and Diving (16)
Kile Aukerman, Wright State
Csongor Bajnoczki, Wright State
Matt Dassow, Wright State
Vincent Errichiello, UIC
Grant Harding, Oakland
Brian Heiser, Green Bay
Connor Huff, Green Bay
Chris Jenkyns, Milwaukee
Zach Johnson, Oakland
Cody Jones, Valparaiso
Matyas Keresztes, Oakland
Justin Kermack, Cleveland State
Ryan Korslin, Green Bay
Nathan Meyer, Wright State
Kyle Riordan, Cleveland State
Hrafn Traustason, Oakland

Women’s Swimming and Diving (16)
Andrea Bretl, Valparaiso
Carrie Dinelli, Green Bay
Tricia Grant, Oakland
Nicole Holtkamp, Wright State
Megan Hunter, Oakland
Alexandra Johansson, Cleveland State
Rachel Margis, Milwaukee
Amanda Pallija, Cleveland State
Erika Pliner, Milwaukee
Kyra Rietveld, Oakland
Samantha TenEyck, Wright State
Karin Tomeckova, Oakland
Sierra Townsend, Milwaukee
Parker Wolf, Green Bay
Becky Yokosh, Milwaukee
Anna Yontz, Milwaukee

Men’s Indoor Track and Field (16) **-Ties are not broken
Shawn Bohler, Milwaukee
Joshua Carolin, Detroit
Josh Carow, Valparaiso
Alex Chollet, Milwaukee
Matt Ferry, Milwaukee
Jacob Frey, Valparaiso
CJ Gozdor, Oakland
Ryan Hofsess, Detroit
Steven Ivanics, Detroit
Austin McLean, Youngstown State
Brett Pozolinksi, Milwaukee
Eric Rupe, Youngstown State
Chris Scott, Oakland
Austin Wigent, Detroit
Colton Wirgau, Detroit
Justin Zosso, Valparaiso

Women’s Indoor Track and Field (17) **-Ties are not broken
Laura Benton, Wright State
Louisa Coppola, Detroit
Mariya Denisenko, UIC
Tess Ehrhardt, UIC
Nina Grambling, Youngstown State
Valere Guertin, UIC
Samantha Hamilton, Youngstown State
Claire Johnson, Valparaiso
Alani Letang, Detroit
Shannon Marchant, Detroit
Anuli Okonkwo, Milwaukee
Emma Preston, UIC
Hannah Ropp, Youngstown State
Serena San Cartier, Oakland
Jen Shiley, Youngstown State
Sara Taylor, Detroit
Kelli Wosick, Valparaiso

Award Winners by School
Oakland – 14
Detroit – 11
Milwaukee – 11
Youngstown State – 9
Wright State – 8
Valparaiso – 7
Green Bay – 6
Cleveland State – 5
UIC -5


For the latest and most up-to-date information on Green Bay Athletics, please visit

Follow us on Twitter: @GBPhoenix and @GBHartwig

Like Green Bay Phoenix Athletics on Facebook.

No scheduled events in the near future



Fleet Farm
Hyatt on Main
S&L Motors
Ticket Star
Press Gazette
Country Inn Suites
Brett Favre Steakhouse
Uploaded Ad
Weidner Center
Uploaded Ad