Green Bay Advances to Horizon League Title Match

Courtesy: Green Bay Athletics
Release: April 22, 2011
Print RSS
Article Image
Courtesy: -
Christoph Hopfe won at No. 4 singles Friday as Green Bay defeated Wright State 4-0.

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. ( - The No. 2-seeded Green Bay men's tennis team (16-7) defeated third-seeded Wright State 4-0 on Friday morning at the Butler Bubble, advancing to Saturday's Horizon League Championship match against top-seeded Cleveland State. The Phoenix earned the doubles point and then picked up three singles wins to secure the team victory.

Craig Cox (Surrey, England) and Paul Swanson (Coon Rapids, Minn.) were each two-time winners for the Phoenix on Friday, teaming up to win at No. 3 doubles while combining for two of Green Bay's three singles victories. The duo defeated the Wright State pair of Riyad Bennoui and Hayden Joblin 8-3, while Cox won at No. 2 singles over Joblin (6-4, 6-3) and Swanson defeated Martin Arguello (6-0, 6-4) in the No. 3 spot.

Erik Finkenbrink (Duelman, Germany) and Josh Oothoudt (Minot, N.D.) earned a win at No. 2 doubles, defeating Landon Neuman and Evan Neuman 8-4. Christoph Hopfe (Castrop-Rauxel, Germany) was the third singles winner for the Phoenix, beating Landon Neuman 6-3, 6-2.

Friday's match was originally scheduled to be played outdoors at North Central High School, but poor weather conditions moved competition indoors to the Butler Bubble.

The win marks the first time since 2004 that Green Bay is in the conference championship match. The Phoenix advanced to the finals in three straight seasons (2002-04), falling all three times to Butler.

Saturday's Horizon League Championship will be a rematch of the March 26th meeting between the Phoenix and the Vikings. Cleveland State earned a 4-3 decision in that match, taking four singles matches after Green Bay won the doubles point.

Cleveland State, the three-time defending Horizon League champs, defeated UIC 4-0 Friday morning to advance to its fourth straight title match. The Vikings went a perfect 7-0 in league play during the regular season and has now won 33 consecutive matches against conference opponents.

Saturday's championship match is slated to be played at North Central at 8 a.m., weather permitting. The match will be streamed live on

Green Bay 4, Wright State 0
No. 1 - Erik Finkenbrink (GB) vs. Jan Alafriz (WSU) 4-6, 7-6(2), 1-1 DNF
No. 2 - Craig Cox (GB) def. Hayden Joblin (WSU) 6-4, 6-3
No. 3 - Paul Swanson (GB) def. Martin Arguello (WSU) 6-0, 6-4
No. 4 - Christoph Hopfe (GB) def. Landon Neuman (WSU) 6-3, 6-2
No. 5 - Brian Dredge (WSU) vs. Fabian Gogolin (GB) 3-2 DNF
No. 6 - Henning Jess (GB) vs. Michal Lyzwa (WSU) 2-1 DNF

No. 1 - Fabian Gogolin/Christoph Hopfe (GB) vs. Jan Alafriz/Brian Dredge (WSU) 7-5 DNF
No. 2 - Erik Finkenbrink/Josh Oothoudt (GB) def. Landon Neuman/Evan Neuman (WSU) 8-4
No. 3 - Craig Cox/Paul Swanson (GB) def. Riyad Bennoui/Hayden Joblin (WSU) 8-3
No scheduled events in the near future



Fleet Farm
Hyatt on Main
S&L Motors
Ticket Star
Press Gazette
Country Inn Suites
Brett Favre Steakhouse
Uploaded Ad
Weidner Center
Uploaded Ad