Palmadottir Named Horizon League Offensive Player of the Week

Courtesy: Green Bay Athletics
         
Release: September 03, 2013
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
Article Image

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. (GreenBayPhoenix.com) – After totaling four points and being named the tournament offensive MVP over the weekend at the Phoenix Soccer Tournament, senior forward Hekla Palmadottir (Akranes, Iceland) added one more honor as she was tabbed the Horizon League Women’s Soccer Offensive Player of the Week by the conference office on Tuesday.

Palmadottir was joined by Detriot sophomore keeper Martha Dunbar, who was named the defensive player of the week. The award is the first of both players’ careers.

Palmadottir sparked the Green Bay offense over the two-day tournament, converting a corner kick in the 64th minute in a 3-1 win over Western Illinois on Friday before assisting on both goals in a 2-0 triumph against Eastern Illinois on Sunday.

Starting both matches, Palmadottir finished the weekend with four shots, including two on goal.

She now leads the team and stands second in the Horizon League with six points on two goals and two assists.

The Phoenix returns to action this weekend, traveling to Indiana State on Friday and Drake on Sunday.

#

For the latest and most up-to-date information on Green Bay Athletics, please visit GreenBayPhoenix.com.

Follow us on Twitter: @GBPhoenix and @GBPhoenixWSOC.

Like Green Bay Phoenix women’s soccer and Green Bay Phoenix Athletics on Facebook.

---GreenBayPhoenix.com---

SCHEDULE
Schedule Sponsor
Wednesday, August 20
Men's Soccer 
vs. St. Thomas (Scrimmage)
3:00 PM
Green Bay, Wis.
 
Sunday , August 24
Men's Soccer 
vs. UW-Parkside (Scrimmage)
3:30 PM
Green Bay, Wis.
 
Friday , August 29
Men's Soccer 
vs. Grand Canyon
4:00 PM
Green Bay, Wis.
 
Monday , September 01
Men's Soccer 
vs. DePaul
3:00 PM
Green Bay, Wis.
 
Friday , September 05
Men's Soccer 
at Drake
7:00 PM
Des Moines, Iowa
 
Sunday , September 07
Men's Soccer 
at Western Illinois
1:00 PM
Macomb, Ill.
 
Friday , September 12
Men's Soccer 
vs. Viterbo
4:00 PM
Green Bay, Wis.
 
Sunday , September 14
Men's Soccer 
at Northern Illinois
6:00 PM
DeKalb, Ill.
 
Friday , September 19
Men's Soccer 
vs. Western Michigan
3:00 PM
Green Bay, Wis.
 
Sunday , September 21
Men's Soccer 
at IPFW
1:00 PM
Fort Wayne, Ind.
 
Wednesday, October 01
Men's Soccer 
vs. Milwaukee
7:00 PM
Green Bay, Wis.
 
Saturday , October 04
Men's Soccer 
at Oakland
7:00 PM
Rochester, Mich.
 
Tuesday , October 07
Men's Soccer 
at Wisconsin
7:00 PM
Madison, Wis.
 
Saturday , October 11
Men's Soccer 
at Detroit
1:00 PM
Detroit, Mich.
 
Wednesday, October 15
Men's Soccer 
vs. UIC
7:00 PM
Green Bay, Wis.
 
ON-DEMAND VIDEO
LAUNCH PLAYER ▸
STAY CONNECTED
BMO
Cellcom
Fleet Farm
Menominee
Packers Shop
Prevea
S&L Motors
Ticket Star
WMMB
Gallagher's Pizza
Buffalo Wild Wings
United Press
Renards Cheese
Baylake Banks
Country Inn Suites
Diamonds & Golds
TWC Sports
Weidner Center
WNFL
Yellow Pages