While You Were Sleeping...

Courtesy: Green Bay Athletics
         
Release: August 08, 2012
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
Article Image
Courtesy: -
The men's soccer team started a new tradition at Green Bay, kicking off its first practice at 12:01 a.m.

By: Jill Wunrow (@JillWunrow)
GreenBayPhoenix.com

GREEN BAY, Wis. (GreenBayPhoenix.com) - If the first practice of the Green Bay men's soccer 2012 season is any indication of how the season will go, fans are in for an exciting year. First year head coach Dan Popik wants his players to have the mentality of being the hardest working team. With that, Popik kicked off the 2012 season with the team's first practice at 12:01 a.m. Aug. 8, the first day teams can start practicing.

"There are going to be some times this year where we're going to have to do things that might challenge us like have a 9:00 a.m. game at Oregon State as well as some other road games that we're going to have to adjust and overcome adversity," Popik said. "We have to get the mindset early that no matter what time it is, when, how or what, we are going to be ready to compete."

Green Bay opens its 2012 season with three home games, kicking off hosting Northern Kentucky Aug. 24. The Phoenix hosts UW-Parkside Aug. 16 and St. Joseph's Aug. 18 in exhibition play. All three contests mentioned begin at 7:00 p.m. at Aldo Santaga Stadium.

To watch a video of the first practice of the Green Bay men's soccer 2012 season, click below.


SCHEDULE
Schedule Sponsor
Sunday , August 24
Men's Soccer 
vs. UW-Parkside (Scrimmage)
3:30 PM
Green Bay, Wis.
 
Friday , August 29
Men's Soccer 
vs. Grand Canyon
4:00 PM
Green Bay, Wis.
 
Monday , September 01
Men's Soccer 
vs. DePaul
3:00 PM
Green Bay, Wis.
 
Friday , September 05
Men's Soccer 
at Drake
7:00 PM
Des Moines, Iowa
 
Sunday , September 07
Men's Soccer 
at Western Illinois
12:00 PM
Macomb, Ill.
 
Friday , September 12
Men's Soccer 
vs. Viterbo
4:00 PM
Green Bay, Wis.
 
Sunday , September 14
Men's Soccer 
at Northern Illinois
6:00 PM
DeKalb, Ill.
 
Friday , September 19
Men's Soccer 
vs. Western Michigan
3:00 PM
Green Bay, Wis.
 
Sunday , September 21
Men's Soccer 
at IPFW
1:00 PM
Fort Wayne, Ind.
 
Wednesday, October 01
Men's Soccer 
vs. Milwaukee
7:00 PM
Green Bay, Wis.
 
Saturday , October 04
Men's Soccer 
at Oakland
6:00 PM
Rochester, Mich.
 
Tuesday , October 07
Men's Soccer 
at Wisconsin
7:00 PM
Madison, Wis.
 
Saturday , October 11
Men's Soccer 
at Detroit
12:00 PM
Detroit, Mich.
 
Wednesday, October 15
Men's Soccer 
vs. UIC
7:00 PM
Green Bay, Wis.
 
Saturday , October 18
Men's Soccer 
vs. Wright State
7:00 PM
Green Bay, Wis.
 
ON-DEMAND VIDEO
LAUNCH PLAYER ▸
STAY CONNECTED

EMAIL
SIGN UP

FOLLOW ON
FACEBOOK

BMO
Cellcom
Fleet Farm
Menominee
Packers Shop
Prevea
S&L Motors
Ticket Star
WMMB
Gallagher's Pizza
Buffalo Wild Wings
United Press
Renards Cheese
Country Inn Suites
Diamonds & Golds
TWC Sports
Weidner Center
WNFL
Yellow Pages