All-League Men's Soccer Teams Announced

Courtesy: Green Bay Athletics
Release: November 08, 2010
Print RSS
Article Image
Courtesy: -
Raymonds (left) was a second team all-league selection while Bernhardsson (right) was on the all-newcomer team

GREEN BAY, Wis. ( - On an eight-game winning streak heading into the Horizon League Championship as the No. 2 seed, six players from the Green Bay (12-4-1, 6-2-0 HL) men's soccer team have been named to the All-Horizon League teams, announced Monday by the league office.

Senior midfielder JC Banks (Milwaukee, Wis.) and junior midfielder Tony Walls (Wauwatosa, Wis.) are First Team All-League selections. Meanwhile seniors David Prochazka (Gothenburg, Sweden) and Scott Raymonds (Brookfield, Wis.) were Second Team All-League selections. Freshmen Sam Krenzien (Wauwatosa, Wis.) and David Bernhardsson (Tjorn, Sweden) were named to the All-Newcomer Team.

As the league leader in goals (12), points (29) and shots (78), Banks is a first team selection for the third time in his career. Banks has scored five game-winning goals for Green Bay this season while being named the Horizon League Player of the Week twice. In addition Banks is a Preseason Second Team All-American selection. Banks scored his first collegiate hat trick in Green Bay's 4-0 win at Detroit, Oct. 3.

"JC Banks and Tony Walls are two of the best players in the country, not just in the Horizon League so it's no surprise to see them receive the recognition they did," said head coach Tom Poitras.

This is the second-consecutive season Walls has been named to the first team after being a second team selection his freshman year. On the Hermann Trophy Watch List, Walls was named the league Player of the Week for the week ending Sept. 19. Sixth in the league in goals (6), fifth in points (16) and third in points (39), Walls scored both of Green Bay's goals in its 2-1 come-from-behind win over Loyola on Oct. 30.

After missing eight games with an early season foot injury, Prochazka is a second team selection for the second time in his career. Last season Prochazka received first team accolades after a second team nod in 2008 and all-newcomer team selection in 2007. Since Prochazka's return on Oct. 16, Green Bay has not allowed more than an average of 0.83 goals per game.

"Obviously David has dealt with injury a lot this season but I wouldn't take any of the other players over him when I have my choice," said Poitras.

For the first time in his successful career, Raymonds was a second team all-league selection. A midfield threat, Raymonds has started every game for Green Bay for the past two seasons. An all-tournament team selection last year, Raymonds has one assist this season and 25 shots with eight on goal.

"As a senior, it's a well-deserved recognition for Scott Raymonds having come off a great junior year followed by the year he's had this season," Poitras said.

For the third time in five years, Green Bay has two players on the all-newcomer team.

 Krenzien has started 11 games for the Phoenix his freshman season while scoring four goals and three assists. Krenzien had his first collegiate goal and assist in Green Bay's 3-1 win at Oral Roberts on Sept 12.

Bernhardsson has started 13 of Green Bay's 17 games this season while scoring two goals and three assists. Bernhardsson scored the game-winning and his first collegiate goal at Oral Roberts on Sept. 12.

"In the second half of our season both Sam and David have gotten more comfortable with our team and solidified themselves with key goals and assists," said Poitras. "Both are well deserving of the recognition."

Green Bay's current winning streak is the third longest in program history. The Phoenix will travel to Indianapolis Friday for the second round of the Horizon League Championships hosted by No. 1 seed Butler.

As the No. 2 seed, Green Bay will play the highest remaining seed from Tuesday's opening round at 11 a.m. on Friday at the Butler Bowl.

2010 Horizon League Award Winners
First Team All-Horizon League
Ben Sippola, Sr., M, Butler
JC Banks, Sr., M, Green Bay
Matt Hedges, Jr., D, Butler
Tony Walls, Jr., M, Green Bay
Willie Koss, Sr., M, Loyola
Robert Younger, Sr., D, UIC
Greg Rosenthal, Sr., D/M, Milwaukee
Audric Kilroy, Sr., D, Cleveland State
Ya Ya Toure, Jr., F, Detroit
Andrew Wiedabach, So., M/F, Milwaukee
Brad Stuver, So., GK, Cleveland State

Second Team All-Horizon League
Stefan Antonijevic, Jr., M, Valparaiso
David Prochazka, Sr., D, Green Bay
Kyle Pateros, Sr., M, Butler
Manuel Conde, Jr., M, Cleveland State
Conner Burt, Sr., D, Butler
Ade Oleyedun, Fr., M, Butler
Adrian Ortiz, Sr., M, Valparaiso
Scott Raymonds, Sr., M, Green Bay
Andrew Weis, Sr., M, Loyola
Jeff Baker, Sr., D, Cleveland State
Fabian Knopfler, Sr., GK, Butler

All-Newcomer Team
Ya Ya Toure, Jr., F, Detroit
Ade Oleyedun, Fr., M, Butler
Manuel Conde, Jr., M, Cleveland State
Aslinn Rodas, Fr., M, Cleveland State
Sam Krenzien, Fr., F, Green Bay
Robbie Boyd, Fr., F/M, Milwaukee
James Howe, Fr., M, Loyola
Jordan Burt, Fr., M, Butler
Austin Oldham, Fr., F, Butler
David Bernhardsson, Fr., F, Green Bay
Guy Shabtay, Jr., F, Valparaiso

Player of the Year: Ben Sippola, Butler
Offensive Player of the Year: Ben Sippola, Butler
Defensive Player of the Year: Matt Hedges, Butler
Goalkeeper of the Year: Brad Stuver, Cleveland State
Newcomer of the Year: Ya Ya Toure, Detroit
Coach of the Year: Kelly Findley, Butler

No scheduled events in the near future



Fleet Farm
Hyatt on Main
S&L Motors
Ticket Star
Press Gazette
Country Inn Suites
Brett Favre Steakhouse
Uploaded Ad
Weidner Center
Uploaded Ad