2012 Horizon League Championship Central

Courtesy: Green Bay Athletics
Release: February 22, 2012
Print RSS

BROWN DEER, Wis. (GreenBayPhoenix.com) - The Green Bay swimming and diving teams concluded the 2012 Horizon League Championship Meet on Saturday night, with the women's squad finishing third and the men's squad finishing fifth at the Walter Schroeder Aquatic Center in Brown Deer, Wis.

Green Bay wrapped up the four-day meet with six individual championships and 10 school records. The Phoenix also took home some hardware, as senior diver Daniel Pogue (Chisholm, Minn.) earned Horizon League Men's Diver of the Meet, freshman Amanda Walker (Sun Prairie, Wis.) won Co-Newcomer of the Year and diving coach Tom Stover won Men's Diving Coach of the Year.

Milwaukee took the team titles on both sides, ending the Phoenix women's run of seven consecutive league championships.

Day Four Recap
Kendra Rottier (Green Bay, Wis.) won her third conference title of the week on Saturday, dominating the 1650-yard freestyle race with a time of 16:47.23 - nearly 30 seconds ahead of second place. Rottier finished the four-day meet with three individual titles and four school records to her name, as the sophomore standout also won the 1000 free (10:03.70) and 500 free (4:52.88) and swam on Green Bay's record-breaking 800 free relay squad, which placed second in 7:27.18.

For a complete day four recap, click here.

Day Three Recap
The Phoenix swimmers and divers continued to perform well on day three of the Horizon League Championships, combining to win three individual titles, break four school records and a conference record. The Green Bay women ended the day in third place, while the men's squad is in fifth with one day remaining.

Senior Amber Bartholomew (Alexandria, Minn.) cruised to a first-place time of 4:18.62 in the 400 IM, breaking both the Green Bay and Horizon League records. Men's senior Daniel Pogue (Chisholm, Minn.) also crushed the school record in the 1-meter diving event, putting up a gigantic total of 379.15 en route to an individual title.

The top men's performance in the pool on Friday came from junior Jonathan Lesniak (McHenry, Ill.), who sprinted to a conference championship in the 100 breaststroke with a time of 55.24.

Amanda Walker (Sun Prairie, Wis.) continued her outstanding freshman campaign on Friday by placing third in the 200 freestyle with a school-record time of 1:50.53. Walker then swam the opening leg of Green Bay's record-setting 800 free relay, which finished second in 7:27.18.

For a complete day three recap, click here.

Day Two Recap
Kendra Rottier (Green Bay, Wis.) was at it again on Thursday night, breaking another school record while earning her second individual conference title in as many days. The sophomore took the 500-yard freestyle on day two, nearly besting the Horizon League record and breaking the Phoenix record with a time of 4:52.88. Senior Amber Bartholomew (Alexandria, Minn.) recorded a school record of her own, finishing second in the 200 IM with a time of 2:01.28 - good enough for an NCAA B cut.

The Phoenix women are in third place with 242 points at the meet's halfway point, 53 behind first-place Milwaukee. The Green Bay men's squad currently sits in fifth place, accumulating 127 points over the first two days.

For a complete recap of day two, click here.

Day One Recap
The Phoenix squads got off to a strong start on Wednesday, breaking a pair of school records while turning in a number of other impressive finishes. The women, who are looking for their eighth straight conference crown, are in third place after day one, while the men's squad is in fifth.

Sophomore Kendra Rottier (Green Bay, Wis.) won the women's 1000-yard freestyle in school-record fashion, clocking in at 10:03.79. Senior Daniel Pogue (Chisholm, Minn.) broke the school record while finishing in a close second in the 3-meter dive (352.20).

For a complete recap of day one, click here.

Team Scores & Awards

Final Women's Team Scores
1 -Milwaukee 759.5
2 - Cleveland State 675.5
3 - Green Bay 631

4 - UIC 566.5
5 - Wright State 402.5
6 - Youngstown State 364
7 - Valparaiso 137
8 - Butler 124

Final Men's Team Scores
1 - Milwaukee 901
2 - Cleveland State 726.5
3 - UIC 701.5
4 - Wright State 475
5 - Green Bay 432

6 - Valparaiso 148

Women's Athlete of the Year: Emily McClellan, Milwaukee
Women's Diver of the Meet: Kacey Cummings, Cleveland State
Women's Swimmer of the Meet: Emily McClellan, Milwaukee
Women's Newcomer of the Year: Amanda Walker, Green Bay & Ashley Yow, Youngstown State
Women's Diving Coach of the Year: Rich Karban, Cleveland State
Women's Swimming Coach of the Year: Kyle Clements, Milwaukee

Men's Athlete of the Year: Hermanus Botha, Wright State
Men's Diver of the Meet: Daniel Pogue, Green Bay
Men's Performer of the Meet: Hermanus Botha, Wright State
Men's Newcomer of the Year: Kenny Stelpflug, Milwaukee
Men's Diving Coach of the Year: Tom Stover, Green Bay
Men's Swimming Coach of the Year: Kyle Clements, Milwaukee

Watch Finals Live

Streaming video by Ustream


For the latest and most up-to-date information on Green Bay Athletics and Green Bay Swimming and Diving, please visit GreenBayPhoenix.com.

Follow us on Twitter: @GBPhoenix and @RyanHartwig

Like Green Bay Phoenix Athletics on Facebook.

No scheduled events in the near future



Fleet Farm
Hyatt on Main
S&L Motors
Ticket Star
Press Gazette
Country Inn Suites
Brett Favre Steakhouse
Uploaded Ad
Weidner Center
Uploaded Ad