MBB Season Tickets On Sale
WBB Season Tickets On Sale

VIDEO: Dunks Help Mays Flourish in New Role

Courtesy: Green Bay Athletics
         
Release: January 15, 2013
Send this article to a friend Print RSS

By: Andrew Gavin (@GBGavin)
GreenBayPhoenix.com

GREEN BAY, Wis. (GreenBayPhoenix.com) - Sophomore Greg Mays (Chicago, Ill.) was inserted in the starting lineup for Green Bay on Dec. 15, and in the eight games since the 6-foot-9 forward has really taken advantage of his opportunity. With a dunk-first, aggressive mentality, Mays has used his athleticism to add a new dimension to the Phoenix.

In the eight games, Mays is averaging 9.1 points and 5.5 rebounds per game. On the strength of 12 dunks, Mays is shooting an impressive 61.7 percent from the field. On Jan. 5 against Detroit, Mays scored a career-high 18 points and grabbed nine rebounds, making 8-of-9 shots that included five dunks.

Mays will hope to continue his strong play this week as Green Bay hosts Youngstown State (Thursday, 7 p.m.) and Cleveland State (Saturday, 1 p.m.).
SCHEDULE
Schedule Sponsor
Saturday , November 15
Men's Basketball 
vs. Illinois-Springfield (Military Appreciation Day)
3:00 PM
Green Bay, Wis.
 
Wednesday, November 19
Men's Basketball 
at Wisconsin
8:00 PM
Madison, Wis.
Big Ten Network  
Monday , November 24
Men's Basketball 
at East Carolina
11:00 AM
Estero, Fla.
 
Tuesday , November 25
Men's Basketball 
at TBA
TBA
Estero, Fla.
 
Wednesday, November 26
Men's Basketball 
at TBA
TBA
Estero, Fla.
 
Monday , December 01
Men's Basketball 
vs. Minnesota-Duluth (Pomps Schedule Magnet Giveaway)
7:00 PM
Green Bay, Wis.
 
Thursday , December 04
Men's Basketball 
at Georgia State
TBA
Atlanta, Ga.
 
Saturday , December 06
Men's Basketball 
at Miami
1:00 PM
Coral Gables, Fla.
ESPN3  
Saturday , December 13
Men's Basketball 
vs. Drake (Festival Foods Family Game)
1:00 PM
Green Bay, Wis.
 
Wednesday, December 17
Men's Basketball 
vs. Morehead State (Wisconsin Milk Marketing Board Trading Cards)
7:00 PM
Green Bay, Wis.
 
Sunday , December 21
Men's Basketball 
at UALR
1:00 PM
Las Vegas, Nev.
 
Monday , December 22
Men's Basketball 
at Bradley/UC Irvine
TBA
Las Vegas, Nev.
 
Saturday , December 27
Men's Basketball 
vs. Georgia State (Cellcom Winter Hat Giveaway)
12:00 PM
Green Bay, Wis.
 
Wednesday, December 31
Men's Basketball 
vs. Chicago State (Wells Fargo New Year's Eve Party)
12:00 PM
Green Bay, Wis.
 
Monday , January 05
Men's Basketball 
vs. Wright State (Fox Communities Credit Union Sunglasses Giveaway)
7:00 PM
Green Bay, Wis.
 
ON-DEMAND VIDEO
LAUNCH PLAYER ▸
STAY CONNECTED

EMAIL
SIGN UP

FOLLOW ON
FACEBOOK

Cellcom
Fleet Farm
Menominee
Packers Shop
Prevea
S&L Motors
Ticket Star
WMMB
Gallagher's Pizza
Buffalo Wild Wings
United Press
Fox Communities Credit Union
Country Inn Suites
Diamonds & Golds
Renards Cheese
Weidner Center
WNFL
Yellow Pages
TWC Sports