Fletcher, Brown Gain Horizon League Honors

Courtesy: Green Bay Athletics
Release: February 28, 2011
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
Article Image
Courtesy: -
Rahmon Fletcher (left) and Alec Brown both were honored by the Horizon League Monday.

GREEN BAY, Wis. (GreenBayPhoenix.com) - Senior Rahmon Fletcher (Kansas City, Mo.) earned Horizon League honors for the fourth-straight season, the league office announced Monday. Fletcher was named to the All-Horizon League Second Team and freshman Alec Brown (Winona, Minn.) was named to the All-Newcomer Team after voting by the league's head coaches, communication directors and respective media members.

A 5-foot-10 guard from Kansas City, Mo., Fletcher is averaging 16 points per game entering Tuesday night's Horizon League Championship opener at Wright State. The senior has made 50 three-pointers while also averaging three assists and 1.5 steals per game. He ranks fifth in the league in scoring, tied for fourth in steals per game, 10th in assists and 10th in three-point percentage.

Fletcher is winding down one of the most accomplished careers in Green Bay history, including his four postseason Horizon League honors. He was on the All-Newcomer Team as a freshman, on the second team as a sophomore and on the first team as a junior.

Brown was one of only two freshmen named to the All-Newcomer Team. The 7-foot-1 center is averaging 10 points, 5.6 rebounds and 2.1 blocks per contest and is the only Phoenix player to start all 31 games this season. Brown broke the single-season record for blocks (65) and his 174 rebounds are the third-most all-time among Green Bay freshmen.

He leads Horizon League freshmen in rebounds and blocked shots and is second in points per game, field goals made and free throws made. Brown's 311 points are the most by a Green Bay freshman since Mike Schachtner's 320 points in 2005-06.

Cleveland State's Norris Cole was named the Player of the Year and the Defensive Player of the Year, Milwaukee's Rob Jeter was named the Coach of the Year, Detroit's Ray McCallum was named Newcomer of the Year and Loyola's Geoff McCammon was named the Sixth Man of the Year.

Green Bay, the No. 7 seed, will play at sixth-seeded Wright State at 6 p.m. on Tuesday at the Nutter Center.

All-Horizon League Teams
First Team
Norris Cole, Cleveland State
Matt Howard, Butler
Vaughn Duggins, Wright State
Anthony Hill, Milwaukee
Brandon Wood, Valparaiso

Second Team
Shelvin Mack, Butler
Rahmon Fletcher, Green Bay
Ray McCallum, Detroit
Eli Holman, Detroit
N'Gai Evans, Wright State

All-Newcomer Team
Ray McCallum, Detroit
Kaylon Williams, Milwaukee
Paul Carter, UIC
Alec Brown, Green Bay
Damian Eargle, Youngstown State

All-Defensive Team
Norris Cole, Cleveland State
Eli Holman, Detroit
Trevon Harmon, Cleveland State
Ronald Nored, Butler
Matt Howard, Butler

Player of the Year: Norris Cole, Cleveland State
Newcomer of the Year:
Ray McCallum, Detroit
Defensive Player of the Year:
Norris Cole, Cleveland State
Sixth Man of the Year:
Geoff McCammon, Loyola
Coach of the Year:
Rob Jeter, Milwaukee

Schedule Sponsor
Monday , November 30
Men's Basketball 
7:00 PM
Edwardsville, Ill. (Vadalabene Center)
 | Live Stats  | FOX Sports Midwest / OVC Digital Network  | WNFL 92.1 FM/1440 AM  
Sunday , December 06
Men's Basketball 
vs. Toledo
2:00 PM
 | Live Stats ESPN3  
Tuesday , December 15
Men's Basketball 
vs. Pacific
7:00 PM
 | Live Stats ESPN3  
Sunday , December 20
Men's Basketball 
vs. UW-Superior
12:00 PM
 | Live Stats ESPN3  
Wednesday, December 23
Men's Basketball 
at Wisconsin
8:00 PM
Madison, Wis. (Kohl Center)
 | Live Stats Big Ten Network  
Monday , December 28
Men's Basketball 
at Morehead State
6:00 PM
Morehead, Ky. (Ellis T. Johnson Arena)
OVC Digital Network  
Saturday , January 02
Men's Basketball 
vs. Northern Kentucky
1:00 PM
RESCH CENTER [Festival Foods Family Game/WMMB Trading Cards]
 | Live Stats ESPN3  
Monday , January 04
Men's Basketball 
vs. Wright State
7:00 PM
RESCH CENTER [S&L Motors Family Car Stickers]
 | Live Stats ESPN3  
Thursday , January 07
Men's Basketball 
at Cleveland State
6:30 PM
Cleveland, Ohio (Wolstein Center)
TWC SportsChannel / ESPN3  
Saturday , January 09
Men's Basketball 
at Youngstown State
6:00 PM
Youngstown, Ohio (Beeghly Center)
Thursday , January 14
Men's Basketball 
at UIC
7:00 PM
Chicago, Ill. (UIC Pavilion)
Saturday , January 16
Men's Basketball 
at Valparaiso
7:00 PM
Valparaiso, Ind. (ARC)
Tuesday , January 19
Men's Basketball 
at Chicago State
7:05 PM
Chicago, Ill. (Jones Convocation Center)
 | Live Stats  
Saturday , January 23
Men's Basketball 
vs. Oakland
1:00 PM
RESCH CENTER [Prevea Health BlackOut/Youth Jerseys]
 | Live Stats ESPN3  
Monday , January 25
Men's Basketball 
vs. Detroit
7:00 PM
 | Live Stats ESPN3  



Fleet Farm
Hyatt on Main
S&L Motors
Ticket Star
Gallagher's Pizza
Weidner Center
Country Inn Suites
Ron's Cheese