VIDEO: Dunks Help Mays Flourish in New Role

Courtesy: Green Bay Athletics
         
Release: January 15, 2013
Send this article to a friend Print RSS

By: Andrew Gavin (@GBGavin)
GreenBayPhoenix.com

GREEN BAY, Wis. (GreenBayPhoenix.com) - Sophomore Greg Mays (Chicago, Ill.) was inserted in the starting lineup for Green Bay on Dec. 15, and in the eight games since the 6-foot-9 forward has really taken advantage of his opportunity. With a dunk-first, aggressive mentality, Mays has used his athleticism to add a new dimension to the Phoenix.

In the eight games, Mays is averaging 9.1 points and 5.5 rebounds per game. On the strength of 12 dunks, Mays is shooting an impressive 61.7 percent from the field. On Jan. 5 against Detroit, Mays scored a career-high 18 points and grabbed nine rebounds, making 8-of-9 shots that included five dunks.

Mays will hope to continue his strong play this week as Green Bay hosts Youngstown State (Thursday, 7 p.m.) and Cleveland State (Saturday, 1 p.m.).
SCHEDULE
Schedule Sponsor
Friday , August 29
Volleyball 
vs. Kansas State
7:00 PM
Green Bay, Wis.
 
Saturday , August 30
Volleyball 
vs. Arizona
12:00 PM
Green Bay, Wis.
 
Volleyball 
vs. South Dakota
7:00 PM
Green Bay, Wis.
 
Friday , September 05
Volleyball 
at Butler
4:00 PM
Mount Pleasant, Mich.
 
Saturday , September 06
Volleyball 
at Central Michigan
12:30 PM
Mount Pleasant, Mich.
 
Volleyball 
at Marshall
5:00 PM
Mount Pleasant, Mich.
 
Friday , September 12
Volleyball 
at Rice
1:00 PM
Milwaukee, Wis.
 
Volleyball 
at UT-San Antonio
5:00 PM
Milwaukee, Wis.
 
Saturday , September 13
Volleyball 
at Marquette
12:00 PM
Milwaukee, Wis.
 
Friday , September 19
Volleyball 
at Ohio
4:30 PM
Evanston, Ill.
 
Sunday , September 21
Volleyball 
at Northwestern
1:00 PM
Evanston, Ill.
 
Friday , September 26
Volleyball 
vs. Valparaiso
7:00 PM
Green Bay, Wis.
 
Saturday , September 27
Volleyball 
vs. UIC
4:00 PM
Green Bay, Wis.
 
Friday , October 03
Volleyball 
at Milwaukee
7:00 PM
Milwaukee, Wis.
 
Friday , October 10
Volleyball 
at Youngstown State
7:00 PM
Youngstown, Ohio
 
ON-DEMAND VIDEO
LAUNCH PLAYER ▸
STAY CONNECTED
BMO
Cellcom
Fleet Farm
Menominee
Packers Shop
Prevea
S&L Motors
Ticket Star
WMMB
Gallagher's Pizza
Buffalo Wild Wings
United Press
Renards Cheese
Baylake Banks
Country Inn Suites
Diamonds & Golds
TWC Sports
Weidner Center
WNFL
Yellow Pages