VIDEO: Dunks Help Mays Flourish in New Role

Courtesy: Green Bay Athletics
         
Release: January 15, 2013
Print RSS

By: Andrew Gavin (@GBGavin)
GreenBayPhoenix.com

GREEN BAY, Wis. (GreenBayPhoenix.com) - Sophomore Greg Mays (Chicago, Ill.) was inserted in the starting lineup for Green Bay on Dec. 15, and in the eight games since the 6-foot-9 forward has really taken advantage of his opportunity. With a dunk-first, aggressive mentality, Mays has used his athleticism to add a new dimension to the Phoenix.

In the eight games, Mays is averaging 9.1 points and 5.5 rebounds per game. On the strength of 12 dunks, Mays is shooting an impressive 61.7 percent from the field. On Jan. 5 against Detroit, Mays scored a career-high 18 points and grabbed nine rebounds, making 8-of-9 shots that included five dunks.

Mays will hope to continue his strong play this week as Green Bay hosts Youngstown State (Thursday, 7 p.m.) and Cleveland State (Saturday, 1 p.m.).
SCHEDULE
Friday , September 02
Volleyball 
at SIUE
7:00 PM
Edwardsville, Ill.
 
Saturday , September 03
Volleyball 
at Evansville
12:00 PM
Edwardsville, Ill.
 
Friday , September 09
Volleyball 
at Western Illinois
10:00 AM
Springfield, Mo.
 
Volleyball 
at IUPUI
5:00 PM
Springfield, Mo.
 
Saturday , September 10
Volleyball 
at McNeese State
10:00 AM
Springfield, Mo.
 
Volleyball 
at Ohio State
5:00 PM
Springfield, Mo.
 
Friday , September 16
Volleyball 
at Toledo
4:30 PM
Minneapolis, Minn.
 
Saturday , September 17
Volleyball 
at North Dakota
12:00 PM
Minneapolis, Minn.
 
Volleyball 
at Minnesota
7:00 PM
Minneapolis, Minn.
 
Friday , September 23
Volleyball 
vs. Valparaiso
6:00 PM
KRESS CENTER
 | Live Stats  
Saturday , September 24
Volleyball 
vs. Northern Kentucky
2:00 PM
KRESS CENTER
 | Live Stats  
Friday , September 30
Volleyball 
at UIC
7:00 PM
Chicago, Ill.
 
Sunday , October 02
Volleyball 
at Milwaukee
4:00 PM
Milwaukee, Wis.
TWC SportsChannel  
Friday , October 07
Volleyball 
at Youngstown State
6:00 PM
Youngstown, Ohio
 
Saturday , October 08
Volleyball 
at Oakland
4:00 PM
Rochester, Mich.
 
ON-DEMAND VIDEO
LAUNCH PLAYER ▸
STAY CONNECTED

EMAIL
SIGN UP

FOLLOW ON
FACEBOOK

Cellcom
Fleet Farm
Copp's
Hyatt on Main
S&L Motors
Ticket Star
WMMB
Gallagher's Pizza
Buffalo Wild Wings
AmericInn
Weidner Center
WNFL
Haberdasher Limited
Country Inn Suites
Brett Favre Steakhouse
Bergstrom
FunDeco
Ron's Cheese