Phoenix Student-Athletes Finish the Year Giving Back

Courtesy: Green Bay Athletics
         
Release: May 13, 2011
Print RSS
Article Image
Courtesy: -
The Green Bay women's volleyball team visited the Freedom House on Cinco de Mayo.

GREEN BAY, Wis. (GreenBayPhoenix.com) - Throughout the 2010-11 year, Green Bay Athletics has made giving back to the Green Bay community a priority for its programs and student-athletes. With some events organized by individual sport programs and others directed by the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC), Phoenix student-athletes have taken time away from busy athletics and academic schedules to serve the community in a variety of ways.

Over the past two weeks, the men's basketball team participated in the YMCA's Healthy Kids Day, the women's soccer team volunteered at the Special Olympics and the volleyball team visited the Freedom House.

During the year, Green Bay Athletics also hosted Phoenix FanFest, a volleyball clinic at the Oneida Recreation Center, the SAAC Teddy Bear Drive and two blood drives. Teams and student-athletes have also volunteered their time for the Salvation Army's Toys for Tots program, Danz Elementary After-School Program, Green Bay area Boys & Girls Clubs, the Slam Dunk Reading Club, Heritage Hills' Halloween event and the Jingle Bell Run for the Arthritis Foundation.

STUDENT-ATHLETES GIVING BACK

SCHEDULE
Friday , September 30
Volleyball 
at UIC
7:30 PM
Chicago, Ill.
 | Live Stats  | ESPN3  
Sunday , October 02
Volleyball 
at Milwaukee
4:00 PM
Milwaukee, Wis.
 | Live Stats  | TWC SportsChannel / ESPN3  
Friday , October 07
Volleyball 
at Youngstown State
6:00 PM
Youngstown, Ohio
 
Saturday , October 08
Volleyball 
at Oakland
4:00 PM
Rochester, Mich.
 
Wednesday, October 12
Volleyball 
at Cleveland State
6:00 PM
Cleveland, Ohio
 
Sunday , October 16
Volleyball 
vs. Wright State (Dig Pink/Autographs)
12:00 PM
KRESS CENTER
 | Live Stats  
Friday , October 21
Volleyball 
vs. Oakland (Free Food Friday [UWGB Students]/Autographs)
6:00 PM
KRESS CENTER
 | Live Stats  
Saturday , October 22
Volleyball 
vs. Youngstown State (Alumni Day)
2:00 PM
KRESS CENTER
 | Live Stats  
Saturday , October 29
Volleyball 
vs. UIC (Parents Day)
4:00 PM
KRESS CENTER
 | Live Stats  
Sunday , October 30
Volleyball 
vs. Milwaukee (Senior Day)
4:00 PM
KRESS CENTER
 | Live Stats  
Friday , November 04
Volleyball 
at Northern Kentucky
6:00 PM
Highland Heights, Ky.
 
Saturday , November 05
Volleyball 
at Valparaiso
4:00 PM
Valparaiso, Ind.
 
Wednesday, November 09
Volleyball 
vs. Cleveland State
6:00 PM
KRESS CENTER
 | Live Stats  
Sunday , November 13
Volleyball 
at Wright State
12:00 PM
Dayton, Ohio
 
Friday , November 18
Volleyball 
at TBD (First Round)
TBA
TBD
 
ON-DEMAND VIDEO
LAUNCH PLAYER ▸
STAY CONNECTED

EMAIL
SIGN UP

FOLLOW ON
FACEBOOK

Cellcom
Fleet Farm
PNS
Hyatt on Main
S&L Motors
Ticket Star
WMMB
Buffalo Wild Wings
AmericInn
Weidner Center
WNFL
Country Inn Suites
Brett Favre Steakhouse
Bergstrom