Lawent Earns Herb Foster Sportsmanship Award

Courtesy: Green Bay Athletics
         
Release: April 22, 2011
Print RSS
Article Image
Courtesy: -
Emily Lawent received the Herb Foster Sportsmanship Award for the second time in her career.

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. (GreenBayPhoenix.com) - Green Bay senior women's tennis player Emily Lawent (Milwaukee, Wis.) is the 2011 recipient of the Herb Foster Sportsmanship Award, a postseason Horizon League award presented for outstanding conduct on and off the court. Lawent shares this year's award with Valparaiso's Brittany O'Reilly.

Lawent played every match at No. 1 singles and No. 1 doubles for the Phoenix in 2010-11. The senior ended her career on a high note on April 16 against South Dakota, earning a 6-3, 6-1 singles win following an 8-1 victory in doubles action.

It marks the second time Lawent has won the Herb Foster Award in her career, as she also received it in 2009 as a sophomore. The award is named after the former Wright State coach who exemplified the values of the league and encouraged student-athletes to compete with sportsmanship.

SCHEDULE
Schedule Sponsor
Saturday , February 20
Women's Tennis 
at Marquette
5:00 PM
Milwaukee, Wis.
 
Friday , March 04
Women's Tennis 
vs. Chicago State
6:30 PM
Green Bay, Wis.
 
Saturday , March 05
Women's Tennis 
at Northern Illinois
12:00 PM
Rockford, Ill.
 
Sunday , March 06
Women's Tennis 
at Western Illinois
12:00 PM
Galesburg, Ill.
 
Friday , March 18
Women's Tennis 
at Dayton
12:00 PM
Dayton, Ohio
 
Saturday , March 26
Women's Tennis 
vs. Oakland
2:00 PM
Green Bay, Wis.
 
Sunday , March 27
Women's Tennis 
vs. Detroit
2:00 PM
Green Bay, Wis.
 
Friday , April 01
Women's Tennis 
vs. UW-Milwaukee
TBA
Milwaukee, Wis.
 
Saturday , April 09
Women's Tennis 
vs. Valparaiso
3:00 PM
Green Bay, Wis.
 
Sunday , April 10
Women's Tennis 
vs. UIC
10:00 AM
Green Bay, Wis.
 
Saturday , April 16
Women's Tennis 
at Youngstown State
TBA
Youngstown, Ohio
 
Sunday , April 17
Women's Tennis 
at Cleveland State
TBA
Cleveland, Ohio
 
Saturday , April 23
Women's Tennis 
at Wright State
12:00 PM
Dayton, Ohio
 
Sunday , April 24
Women's Tennis 
at Northern Kentucky
TBA
Covington, Ky.
 
Friday , April 29
Women's Tennis 
at HL Championships
TBA
Ann Arbor, Mich.
 
ON-DEMAND VIDEO
LAUNCH PLAYER ▸
STAY CONNECTED

EMAIL
SIGN UP

FOLLOW ON
FACEBOOK

Cellcom
Fleet Farm
Menominee
Copp's
Hyatt on Main
S&L Motors
Ticket Star
WMMB
Gallagher's Pizza
AmericInn
Weidner Center
WNFL
Haberdasher Limited
Country Inn Suites
Brett Favre Steakhouse
Bergstrom
FunDeco
Ron's Cheese