Green Bay Women's Tennis Drops Opener at Wisconsin

Courtesy: Green Bay Athletics
         
Release: January 31, 2011
Print RSS
Article Image
Courtesy: -
Senior Emily had a strong second set for the Phoenix

MADISON, Wis. (GreenBayPhoenix.com) - The Green Bay women's tennis team opened its 2011 spring season on Sunday in Madison, falling to Wisconsin 7-0 at Nielsen Tennis Stadium.

At No. 1 singles, senior Emily Lawent (Milwaukee, Wis.) bounced back from a tough opening set to fight Wisconsin's Nicky Stracar to a 6-1, 6-4 match. Junior Morgan Weuve (Green Bay, Wis.) played a competitive first set in a 6-4, 6-0 loss to Jenny Hois at No. 2 singles.

Green Bay returns to action on Sunday, hosting IUPUI at 10 a.m.

Wisconsin 7, Green Bay 0

Singles
1. Nicky Stracar (WIS) def. Emily Lawent (UWGB) 6-1, 6-4
2. Jenny Hois (WIS) def. Morgan Weuve (UWGB) 6-4, 6-0
3. Alaina Trgovich (WIS) def. Jennifer Bradfield (UWGB) 6-0, 6-0
4. Hannah Berner (WIS) def. Maria Anderson (UWGB) 6-0, 6-3
5. Jessica Seyferth (WIS) def. Rebecca Nelson (UWGB) 6-0, 6-0
6. Caroline Bauer (WIS) def. Julia Kedrzyski (UWGB) 6-1, 6-0

Doubles
1. Nicky Stracar/Alaina Trgovich (WIS) def. Emily Lawent/Morgan Weuve (UWGB) 8-1
2. Hannah Berner/Jessica Seyferth (WIS) def. Jennifer Bradfield/Rebecca Nelson (UWGB) 8-2
3. Caroline Bauer/Lauren Gruber (WIS) def. Maria Anderson/Julia Kedrzyski (UWGB) 8-1

SCHEDULE
Schedule Sponsor
Saturday , February 06
Women's Tennis 
at Drake
8:00 AM
Des Moines, Iowa
 
Sunday , February 07
Women's Tennis 
at Creighton
8:00 AM
Des Moines, Iowa
 
Saturday , February 20
Women's Tennis 
at Marquette
5:00 PM
Milwaukee, Wis.
 
Friday , March 04
Women's Tennis 
vs. Chicago State
6:30 PM
Green Bay, Wis.
 
Saturday , March 05
Women's Tennis 
at Northern Illinois
12:00 PM
Rockford, Ill.
 
Sunday , March 06
Women's Tennis 
at Western Illinois
12:00 PM
Galesburg, Ill.
 
Friday , March 18
Women's Tennis 
at Dayton
12:00 PM
Dayton, Ohio
 
Saturday , March 26
Women's Tennis 
vs. Oakland
2:00 PM
Green Bay, Wis.
 
Sunday , March 27
Women's Tennis 
vs. Detroit
2:00 PM
Green Bay, Wis.
 
Friday , April 01
Women's Tennis 
vs. UW-Milwaukee
TBA
Milwaukee, Wis.
 
Saturday , April 09
Women's Tennis 
vs. Valparaiso
3:00 PM
Green Bay, Wis.
 
Sunday , April 10
Women's Tennis 
vs. UIC
10:00 AM
Green Bay, Wis.
 
Saturday , April 16
Women's Tennis 
at Youngstown State
TBA
Youngstown, Ohio
 
Sunday , April 17
Women's Tennis 
at Cleveland State
TBA
Cleveland, Ohio
 
Saturday , April 23
Women's Tennis 
at Wright State
12:00 PM
Dayton, Ohio
 
ON-DEMAND VIDEO
LAUNCH PLAYER ▸
STAY CONNECTED

EMAIL
SIGN UP

FOLLOW ON
FACEBOOK

Cellcom
Fleet Farm
Menominee
Copp's
Hyatt on Main
S&L Motors
Ticket Star
WMMB
Gallagher's Pizza
AmericInn
Weidner Center
WNFL
Haberdasher Limited
Country Inn Suites
Brett Favre Steakhouse
Bergstrom
FunDeco
Ron's Cheese