Rivera, Butts Earn Horizon League Postseason Honors

Courtesy: Green Bay Athletics
Release: May 10, 2011
Print RSS
Article Image
Courtesy: -
Rivera led Green Bay with a career high seven home runs this season

GREEN BAY, Wis. (GreenBayPhoenix.com) - The Horizon League handed out its softball postseason awards Tuesday, with Green Bay junior Alli Rivera (Geneseo, Ill.) being named First Team All-League while freshman Shannon Butts (Greenfield, Wis.) was named to the All-Newcomer Team. Green Bay recently finished its season with a 24-22 record, including 10-13 in league play.

Rivera led Green Bay with a career-high 45 hits, seven home runs and 33 RBIs this season. Rivera's seven homers are tied for ninth best in the league and with 13 throughout her career she sits atop Green Bay's individual career record list. Rivera's 33 RBIs and seven home runs place her second on the individual season record list in both categories. On April 23, Rivera combined for three home runs in a doubleheader against Detroit.

This is the first time in her career Rivera has been an All-League selection and second consecutive season Green Bay has had a player on the First Team.

Butts led Green Bay's freshman class with two home runs, 16 walks and a slugging percentage of .418. Butts appeared in 31 games, starting 21. In addition Butts, played a key role in filling in behind home plate in the catching position for the Phoenix.

It's the fourth time in five seasons Green Bay has had a player named to the conference All-Newcomer Team.

2011 Horizon League Postseason Awards

Player of the Year

      Tess Sito, Cleveland State   

Newcomer of the Year

      Brittany Gardner, Loyola     

Pitcher of the Year

      Jenny Esparza, Butler  

Coach of the Year

      Missy Beseres, Loyola  


All-League First Team

      Tess Sito, Cleveland State

      Erin Falkenberry, Butler

      Coryn Schmit, UIC

      Jordan Rutkowski, Valparaiso

      Lauren Arceneaux, Loyola

      Sara Strickland, Valparaiso

      Louie Haney, Wright State

      Jordan Ingalls, Youngstown State

      Lauren McNulty, Butler

      Brooke Andersen, Loyola

      Carly DeMarco, UIC

      Alli Rivera, Green Bay (Designated Player)

      Jenny Esparza, Butler (Pitcher)

      Brittany Gardner, Loyola (Pitcher)

Second Team

      Mollie Berry, Wright State

      Dara Toman, Cleveland State

      Olivia Bell, Loyola

      China Frost, Wright State

      Sadie Conner, Valparaiso

      Natalie Hernandez, UIC

      Justine Shilt, Wright State

      Erin Jackson, Butler

      KC Boldt, Valparaiso

      Chelsea Archer, Wright State

      Kim Klonowski, Youngstown State (DP)

      Alex Lagesse, Valparaiso (Pitcher)

      Keali Engelkens, Loyola (Pitcher)

All-Newcomer Team

      Olivia Bell, Loyola

      Brittany Gardner, Loyola

      Shannon Butts, Green Bay

      Natalie Hernandez, UIC

      Amanda Wisniewski, Valparaiso

      Chelsea Archer, Wright State

      Sara Cupp, Detroit

      Keali Engelkens, Loyola

      Angie Doerffler, Valparaiso

      Kacie Rapshus, Wright State

No scheduled events in the near future



Fleet Farm
Hyatt on Main
S&L Motors
Ticket Star
Press Gazette
Country Inn Suites
Brett Favre Steakhouse
Uploaded Ad
Weidner Center
Uploaded Ad