print logoprint logo
Article Image
The Student-Athlete Advisory Committee hosted the fourth annual Student-Athlete Honors Night .
Courtesy: Comm Squad

Green Bay Celebrates 2016-17 with Student-Athlete Honors Night

Courtesy: Green Bay Athletics
Release: May 03, 2017

GREEN BAY, Wis. - The Green Bay Department of Athletics and the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee hosted the fourth annual Student-Athlete Honors Night on Tuesday at the Meyer Theatre in downtown Green Bay.

Nearly 300 Phoenix student-athletes, staff members and fans attended the event to celebrate the 2016-17 season. Special guests in attendance included UW-Green Bay's Chancellor Gary L. Miller, 12-year NFL veteran and Green Bay Packers Director of Player Development Rob Davis, and the many Green Bay coaching staffs.

The end of year celebration highlights accomplishments by coaches, student-athletes and teams. Numerous awards were distributed throughout the evening in recognition of outstanding performances in both athletics and academics.

Green Bay women's basketball took home team of the year honors after clinching its 19th-straight regular season conference championship and collecting the Motor City Madness tournament crown to secure its 17th NCAA tournament appearance.

First-team honoree and men's tennis member Florian Kraenzler, and Horizon League Player of the Year and WNBA Draft Pick Mehryn Kraker collected the events most prestigious awards - Male and Female Athlete of the Year. Kraker was unable to attend due to a game with the Washington Mystics, but submitted a video giving praise to her supporters throughout her athletic career.

The Phoenix Medals of Honor – given out to two student-athletes that best exemplify what it means to be a Phoenix both in and out of competition – were given to seniors Austin Gokey and Sam Terry to recognize their endless contributions to their respective teams, the athletics department and the university.

Now in its second year, Director of Athletics Mary Ellen Gillespie's Varsity GB letter program provided graduation stoles to signify each individual's commitment to Phoenix athletics in addition to the framed letters for student-athletes. The stoles designed by student-athletes Megan Powers and Austin Gokey were handed out to graduating seniors.

Breakthrough Players of the Year

Ryan Reinke, Men's Golf

Jen Wellnitz, Women's Basketball

Team GPA Award

Men's Tennis

Women's Cross Country

Most Improved Team GPA

Men's Basketball

Women's Basketball

 Best Individual Performance

Joe Du Chateau, Men's Golf

Lydia DeWeese, Volleyball

 Coach of the Year

Kevin Borseth, Women's Basketball

Sixth Man of the Year

Jess Miller

 Sportsmanship Awards

Brandon Hall, Men's Soccer

Sam Terry, Women's Basketball

 Best Moment

Men's Golf

 Support Staff Member of the Year

Brandon Schlotthauer

 Newcomers of the Year

Riley Darling, Swimming and Diving

Maddie Yoss, Volleyball

 Team of the Year

Women's Basketball

Athlete of the Year

Florian Kraenzler, Men's Tennis

Mehryn Kraker, Women's Basketball