Article Image
Kraenzler went 5-2 at No. 1 singles in league play and received the second-most votes.
Courtesy: Comm Squad

Florian Kraenzler Named to Horizon League First Team

Courtesy: Green Bay Athletics
Release: April 27, 2017
Print RSS

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. ( – After leading his team to a second-place finish during the regular season and the No. 3 seed in this weekend's Horizon League Championship, Junior Florian Kraenzler has been named to the Horizon League First Team, the league announced at Thursday night's awards banquet in Ann Arbor, Mich.

Kraenzler went 10-6 this season at No. 1 singles, including an impressive 5-2 in the Horizon League, playing against each opponents' top individual player. The junior from Germany has now won three-straight singles matches, with his only two defeats this season in league play coming against the HL Player of the Year Jeffrey Schorsch from Valpo and fellow First Team performer Mate Virag from Northern Kentucky. Kraenzler lost to Virag on a first set tiebreak and a 6-4 score in the second set.

He went an impressive 4-2 against players who received All-League honors this season and has now won eight of his last 10 singles matches. Kraenzler was the only Green Bay player represented at the awards banquet, with freshman Ivan Radomirovic being edged out for Freshman of the Year honors.

Kraenzler received the second-most votes of any other player on the ballot.

Kraenzler will lead his third-seeded Phoenix into the first round of the Horizon League Championship on Friday morning. Green Bay will play No. 6 seed Cleveland State at 10 a.m. CT/11 a.m. ET, a team they swept 7-0 on Sunday at home.

The match will be streamed live on ESPN3. Should Green Bay win, the team would face No. 2 seed Detroit Mercy on Saturday at 10 a.m. CT/11 a.m. ET in the semifinals.

Men's First Team All-Conference   

1. Jeffrey Schorsch, Senior, Valparaiso             

2. Florian Kraenzler, Junior, Green Bay            

3. Mitch Maroscher, Senior, Youngstown State         

4. Chad Kissell, Sophomore, Valparaiso               

5. Artem Vasheshnikov, Sophomore, Detroit Mercy  

6. Mate Virag, Senior, Northern Kentucky                     

Men's Second Team All-Conference

7. Nico Mostardi, Freshman, Cleveland State             

8. Danylo Veremeichuk, Freshman, Youngstown State    

9. Patryk Koscielski, Senior, Detroit Mercy           

10. Charlie Emhardt, Senior, Valparaiso            

11. Carl Hedstrom, Senior, UIC           

12. Thomas Rodrigues, Freshman, Youngstown State          

Player of the Year

Jeffrey Schorsch, Senior, Valparaiso

Freshman of the Year

Nico Mostardi, Cleveland State

Herb Foster Sportsmanship Award

Colton Buffington, Senior, Cleveland State

Coach of the Year

Jim Daugherty, Valparaiso


For the latest and most up-to-date information on Green Bay Athletics and Green Bay Men's Tennis, please visit

Follow us on Twitter: @GBPhoenixmten

Like Green Bay Phoenix Athletics on Facebook.


No scheduled events in the near future



Fleet Farm
Hyatt on Main
S&L Motors
Ticket Star
Press Gazette
Country Inn Suites
Brett Favre Steakhouse
Uploaded Ad
Weidner Center
Uploaded Ad