Article Image
Senior Parker Wolf helped the Phoenix women to a third-place finish
Courtesy: -

Green Bay Wraps Up Successful Horizon League Championship Meet

Courtesy: Green Bay Athletics
Release: March 01, 2014
Print RSS

By: Ryan Hartwig (@GBHartwig)

CLEVELAND ( – The Green Bay swimming and diving teams concluded their participation at the 2014 Horizon League Championships on Saturday, with the women’s squad finishing third and the men’s team placing fifth after four days of fierce competition at the Busbey Natatorium. Conference newcomer Oakland won both the men’s and women’s team titles.

The Phoenix squads combined to produce 15 top-eight finishers on the meet’s final day, including another individual championship and school-record performance by junior breaststroker Ryan Korslin (Rudolph, Wis.).

After posting the second-fastest time in the prelims (1:59.62), Korslin raced to victory in the men’s 200-yard breaststroke with a school-record time of 1:58.99. Both times broke Jason Askew’s previous record of 2:00.64, set at the 2011 conference meet, and also achieved NCAA B-cuts.

Korslin finished his impressive stretch in Cleveland with two individual titles (100 breast, 200 breast), a relay win (200 medley relay) and four school records (100 breast, 200 breast, 200 medley relay, 400 medley relay) to his name.

Sophomores Willem Poelmans (Hasselt, Belgium) and Colin Morgan (McFarland, Wis.) were also finalists in the 200 breast with Korslin, as Poelmans finished fifth in 2:01.77 and Morgan placed seventh in 2:02.30.

Junior Ben Loeffelholz (Dubuque, Iowa) was the final top-eight finisher for the Phoenix men on Saturday, placing eighth in the 100 freestyle (45.53).

The top performance of the day on the women’s side came from sophomore Anna Gomez (Burlington, Wis.), who earned a runner-up finish in the 1650 freestyle. Gomez finished with a time of 17:03.64, finishing behind only Milwaukee’s Natalie Johnson (16:45.92). Freshman Alyssa Udean (Lino Lakes, Minn.) was also a finalist in the mile, placing sixth in 17:23.67.

Green Bay had three finalists in the women’s 200 backstroke, as Natalie Neuwirth (Stevens Point, Wis.), Kendra Rottier (Green Bay, Wis.) and Kelsey Johnson (Brookfield, Wis.) each earned top-eight finishes. Neuwirth swam to a fourth-place showing in 2:02.89, Rottier finished one spot back in 2:03.50 and Johnson rounded out the A-final in 2:05.25.

The Phoenix women also had multiple finalists in both the 200 butterfly and the 3-meter diving competition. Freshmen Haley Lucas (Menomonee Falls, Wis.) and Udean placed fourth and fifth, respectively in the 200 fly, with Lucas finishing in 2:04.52 and Udean touching in at 2:04.97. Senior Carrie Dinelli (Northbrook, Ill.) capped off her final league meet with a sixth-place finish on the high board, posting a total score of 264.60, while freshman teammate Crystal Franzwa (Winona, Minn.) registered a 253.95 and finished eighth.

Senior Parker Wolf (Kohler, Wis.) closed her standout Phoenix career with a pair of strong finishes on Saturday, first placing sixth in the 100 free (51.34) before helping her 400 free relay team to a fourth-place finish (3:27.37) in the meet’s final event. Fellow senior Erin Cox (Berlin, Wis.) also posted a top-eight finish on Saturday, placing eighth in the 200 breast (2:23.60).

Women’s Team Standings
1 – Oakland 764
2 – Milwaukee 730
3 – Green Bay 576
4 – Cleveland State 497
5 – UIC 428
6 – Youngstown State 273
7 – Wright State 264
8 – Valparaiso 128

Men’s Team Standings
1 – Oakland 844
2 – Cleveland State 647
3 – UIC 520
4 – Milwaukee 494.5
5 – Green Bay 465.5
6 – Wright State 390
7 – Valparaiso 163

Women’s Swimming and Diving Award Winners
Freshman of the Year: Natalie Johnson, Milwaukee
Diver of the Meet: Tricia Grant, Oakland
Swimmer of the Meet: Emily McClellan, Milwaukee
Swimming and Diving Athlete of the Year: Emily McClellan, Milwaukee
Diving Coach of the Year: Larry Albright, Oakland
Swimming Coach of the Year: Pete Hovland, Oakland

Men’s Swimming and Diving Award Winners
Freshman of the Year: Tuomas Kiviluoma, Oakland
Diver of the Meet: K.J. Heger, Milwaukee
Swimmer of the Meet: Alex Lewis, Cleveland State
Swimming and Diving Athlete of the Year: Alex Lewis, Cleveland State
Diving Coach of the Year: Todd Hill, Milwaukee
Swimming Coach of the Year: Wally Morton, Cleveland State


For the latest and most up-to-date information on Green Bay Athletics, please visit

Follow us on Twitter: @GBPhoenix and @GBPhoenixSwim and @GBHartwig

Like Green Bay Phoenix Swimming & Diving and Green Bay Phoenix Athletics on Facebook.

No scheduled events in the near future



Fleet Farm
Hyatt on Main
S&L Motors
Ticket Star
Press Gazette
Country Inn Suites
Brett Favre Steakhouse
Uploaded Ad
Weidner Center
Uploaded Ad