Article Image
Both seniors earned Second Team honors for their impressive seasons.
Courtesy: Comm Squad

Avery Steen and Joe Du Chateau Named Horizon League All-Conference

Courtesy: Green Bay Athletics
Release: April 22, 2017
Print RSS

ORLANDO, Fla. ( – Senior women’s golfer Avery Steen and senior men’s golfer Joe Du Chateau were both named to the Horizon League Golf All-Conference Teams for their outstanding seasons, announced on Saturday night at the awards banquet at the site of this year’s Horizon League Championships.

Steen earned Second Team honors after leading her team in multiple tournaments this past fall and spring seasons. The native of Luck, Wis., finished 16th at the Oral Roberts Trophy Club before finishing 21st in the Bradley Invite.

Her best finish came at the NKU Fall Classic, where she finished sixth overall and shot 16-over par in the three round tournament. Steen led the Phoenix individually in five different tournaments this season.

Du Chateau won the 2016 Murray State Invitational after finishing 9-under par, which helped his team set the program record for best 18-round score with a 274. His second round score of 66 was his best 18-round score of the season, a shot off his career-high and program tying 65 from last year.

The native of Fond du Lac, Wis., also tied for 3rd overall at the Wright State Invite in early April after finishing 1-under par for the tournament. Du Chateau again shot a season-best 66, this time in the final round to claim the victory, helping him earn Second Team honors.

Both Steen and Du Chateau will take their teams into competition at the 2017 Horizon League Championships in Orlando, Fla., at the Mission Inn El Campeon Course. Both the women’s and men’s team will tee off early Sunday morning in the opening round.

Fans can follow live scoring updates for the men’s tournament and women’s tournament via Golfstat.


Women’s Golf First Team All-Conference

Kaylee Neumeister, Freshman, Cleveland State

Sarah Thompson, Senior, Detroit Mercy

Fiona Schmidt, Junior, Oakland

Morgan Smith, Senior, Oakland

Reva Morris, Freshman, Youngstown State


Women’s Golf Second Team All-Conference

Sophie Kelner, Junior, Cleveland State

Avery Steen, Senior, Green Bay

Sarah Kellam, Senior, Northern Kentucky

Ryleigh Waltz, Senior, Northern Kentucky

Angie Kim, Senior, Valparaiso


Women’s Golf Co-Players of the Year

Sarah Thompson, Detroit Mercy

Morgan Smith, Oakland


Women’s Golf Freshman of the Year

Reva Morris, Youngstown State


Women’s Golf Co-Coaches of the Year

Alyssa Gaudio, Oakland

Nate Miklos, Youngstown State


Men’s Golf First Team All-Conference

Patrick Luth, Senior, Cleveland State

Kyle Gaines, Senior, Detroit Mercy

Jacob Poore, Sophomore, Northern Kentucky

Peter Webb, Senior, Valparaiso

Ryan Wenzler, Senior, Wright State


Men’s Golf Second Team All-Conference

Anton Krecic, Sophomore, Cleveland State

Joe DuChateau, Senior, Green Bay

Jake Kneen, Junior, Oakland

Nick Seitz, Senior, Valparaiso

Austin Sipe, Senior, Wright State


Men’s Golf Co-Players of the Year

Peter Webb, Valparaiso

Ryan Wenzler, Wright State


Men’s Golf Freshman of the Year

Scott Sparks, Detroit Mercy


Men’s Golf Coach of the Year

Steve Weir, Cleveland State


For the latest and most up-to-date information on Green Bay Athletics, please visit

Like Green Bay Phoenix Athletics on Facebook.

No scheduled events in the near future



Fleet Farm
Hyatt on Main
S&L Motors
Ticket Star
Press Gazette
Country Inn Suites
Brett Favre Steakhouse
Uploaded Ad
Weidner Center
Uploaded Ad